Books I’ve Read Lately

*Aunt Dimity & the Village Witch by Nancy Atherton:  This was the latest in the Aunt Dimity series, and I loved it.  Every so often, I start a book by hearing my “reading voice” as I’m reading, and then the voice vanishes as I become immersed in the story.  To me, that’s a good book.  I always find a few faults with this series; mainly that her boys that Lori dotes on are usually on their own somewhere.  In this one, Lori becomes involved with a newcomer to Finch who is trying to solve a mystery created hundreds of years ago.  The whole village becomes part of the search for clues–which are found a little too easily, in my opinion.  But in a book that deals with a dead main character who communicates by journal, you have to put aside those suspicions.

*Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling:  One of my favorite blogs, Nice Girl Notes, is having a book study, and I thought it would be fun to join it.  Yeah, who am I kidding?  I can’t read 2 chapters at a time!  The author of this book is a writer and actress on the show, The Office.  I didn’t like the few episodes I saw, but I liked this book.  She’s self-depreciating, but in a gentle way, and funny.  She tells about her life through incidents and lists, and even includes pictures.

* One Book in the Grave by Kate Carlisle:  The latest in the bibliophile series (at least until Aug. 7th), Brooklyn finds a friend who died 3 years ago actually faked his death.  Murders take place all around her, and she focuses on keeping her friends and family safe while figuring out where her relationship with Derek is headed.  My aunt brought up a point that in every book in this series, Brooklyn has one incident where she gets a shot in at Christianity.  I noticed it in this book.

* Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes:  This is a young adult novel.  It actually took me until the middle of the book to figure out it was a vampire book!  Every other day, Kali is a typical teenage girl.  On the off days, she’s an immortal hunter of demons.  Not a social joiner, she makes some unlikely friends, and becomes involved in figuring out a conspiracy.  Humorous and fast-moving, it was a fun book.

Leave a Reply

