Young Adult: The Queen of Water by Laura Resau and Maria Virginia Farinango

Anymore, my 13 year-old doesn’t want me anywhere around when she’s reading.  It’s that whole figuring-out-identity thing.  So when she handed this book to me and told me I HAD to read it, I did.  Even though it’s totally not my thing.  This is a novel based on a true story of Farinango’s childhood in Ecuador.  There is a huge cultural difference between the indigenous (my accent marks are all missing) and the mestizo (not indigenous.)  Farinango is sent to live with a wealthy family at the age of 7, where she realistically became a slave.  She grows up with this family, teaching herself to read, write and explore science, until she makes an escape as a teenager.  Farinango is in charge of her own destiny, exploring the differences between the privileged, poverty, and everywhere in between.  She picks her way through a minefield of belonging to two cultures.  It was a thought-provoking book.

Leave a Reply

