Children’s Chapter Book: The Runaway Princess by Kate Coombs

I’ve been reading Book Aunt’s blog lately, and saw where she had written this book and its sequel.  I really enjoyed it.  It’s a twist on the typical princess books, of course, with a princess who doesn’t want the arranged marriage and is sequestered in the tower.  She escapes the tower and goes on her own quest to save the parts of the kingdom her father is trying to eliminate–a witch, a dragon, and a band of bandits.  She has to fight against a hoard of princes who are trying to do the same thing in order to win her hand in marriage.  I’m not sure I would have picked it up on this plot line, but I loved the voice of the book, and the twists throughout that aren’t typical of a fractured fairy tale.  I wanted to read the sequel–Megan has read both and loved them–but I have to wait until I can check it out in my temp. home away from home.  It’s a nice light read for the kids who like fairy tales.

Leave a Reply

