First book of Christmas break finished: The Red Pyramid

This is the next series from Rick Riordan after his Lightning Thief series.  It’s a pretty similar concept; 2 kids find out they’re really of royal Egyptian bloodlines, with magic powers and a slew of Egyptian gods either trying to work with them or kill them.  The story was good, and I enjoyed the action.  It actually got bogged down in the “Egyptianness”, though.  You see what’s coming about 2/3 of the way through the book, but have to slog through the details of why it has to be Egyptian to get there.  And for all of that detail, there wasn’t as much history thrown in as I thought there would be.  Don’t get me wrong; I’ll be first in line to get the next book.  I just needed to skim more than I thought I would.

Leave a Reply

