Young Adult book–Stand Tall by Joan Bauer

I love Joan Bauer’s books.  I attended a breakfast with her at a conference one year, and she has the same sense of humor in person as in her writing.  This one is a fantastic read for anyone 10 and up.  Tree is 12, but very large for a 7th grader–thus, his nickname.  He’s going through his parents’ divorce, his grandfather’s leg amputation, some bullying at school, his dog’s aging, trying to convince his basketball coach that he really isn’t very good at basketball, and understanding his new friend, Sophie.  He’s a laid back kid, and I could see several of my former students in him.  He really handles a lot of stress very well, and is a great role model for today’s kids.  My daughter was reading over my shoulder last night, and got really frustrated when I wouldn’t just give her the book.  No worries; I finished it this afternoon and it’s heading to her room.

Leave a Reply

